The Board of Trustees consists of seven (7) members appointed by different governing bodies; Mayor of Whiting, Whiting School Board, Whiting Common Council, Lake County Board of Commissioners, and the Lake County Council. These appointed trustees serve four year terms, and may serve for four (4) consecutive terms. The Board sets the policy and makes sure all funds and expenditures are within the state laws and the Indiana State Board of Accounts.

The Library Board meets the Second Tuesday of Every Month at 6:00 p.m. in the Library’s Meeting Room.

Minutes of the Whiting Public Library Regular Board Meeting: Click Here

Our Board Members

  • Stephanie Strabavy – President

  • Walter Wachel – Vice President

  • Amy Holmes – Treasurer

  • Mary Lu Cowley – Secretary

  • Sue Burriss – Trustee

  • Kelly Kompier – Trustee

  • Thomas Cafferata – Trustee

1735 Oliver Street
Whiting, Indiana 46394
Phone: 219-659-0269
Mon–Thurs 9 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Fri 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Sat 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Closed on Sundays